Do You Hate This Too?

Street with litter everywhere

Litterbugs drive me mad!

Hiya,

OK, I can’t remember seeing a street as bad as the pic above, and yes – hate is a strong word!

Having said that, when I see people drop their rubbish on the floor or throw it out of car windows it demonstrates their ignorance and lack of responsibility.

I see young and old doing it, rich and poor and I really do believe that people this selfish can’t be happy. On that level I feel sorry for them – what sad lives they must lead if they have no respect for their environment or anybody else’s.

Out of sight out of mind, the saying goes and I wonder whether these people actually even see the mess they and others like them cause!

So, why am I writing about this here?

Because it’s this very attitude that keeps people stuck. Stuck in relationships they don’t like, in environments they don’t like and in in jobs they don’t like.

To these people it’s always someone else’s fault that they live the lives they live. They take no responsibility for changing themselves in order to change their circumstances. These are people I can’t work with.

There’s an old joke that goes: “How many psychologists does it take to change a lightbulb? Answer: Just one, but the lightbulb has to ‘want‘ to change.” Funny but also rooted in truth. Unless we actually decide that it’s us that have to change to change our situation, then we’ll never lead the lives we desire.

Taking more responsibility = taking more control.

Rant over.

Stu

🙂

Change Your Mindset,                        CLICK HERE

Enjoy taking responsibility

8 Comments

Filed under Change Job, Self Improvement

8 responses to “Do You Hate This Too?

  1. I hate litter. Depending on my mood at the time I usually say something to the perpetrators. Perhaps a gentle nudge like “Pick it up you scruffy git!”

    • Or maybe: ‘Excuse me, you dropped this!’ and try and shame them into being responsible. Unfortunately it doesn’t change them long term. 😦

    • To be honest we can only blame the parents until they are grown ups. Then we all have to look around us and take responsibility. I’m not a clone of my parents – I’ve learned to think differently and act differently from them. The buck has to stop as they say. 🙂

      • Absolutely, yet not everyone has the brains to realise the lessons learned as a kid from watching their parents were wrong and can break bad habits.

      • Totally Danny, and that’s why I say I can’t work with people like that. They have to at least have the awareness that they need to change in some way. Alas, most go through life with their ‘blame’ hat firmly nailed on. :-/

  2. Jo

    Good one Stu. A sort of friend of mine has written a book called ‘How many light bulbs does it take to change? ‘ Fab title.

Leave a Reply

