Turning hobbies into cash!

Girl Abstract

Girl Abstract

Stuart Young, London, UK

Hiya,

One of the first things I did 10 years ago when I decided I hated my job, and that I was going to change that somehow – was look to my hobbies.

It was more about creating another income stream than replacing my job. It was just something I’d dreamt about for years but had never tried to realise.

The hobbie with the most potential for me was painting. I like to create abstract paintings. Friends and family were the recipients (mainly my sister), and they always encouraged me to pursue selling them – except my dad who just said: “What on earth is it? Who’s going to buy that?” Very encouraging. 🙂

So I started looking into ‘how‘ to sell them.

I went to galleries and art shops and eventually got some interest in a couple of pieces – if I could get them framed the art shop would try and sell them. As luck would have it, I knew of a framing wholesaler near to where I lived so I dropped them in.

A couple of days later I went back to collect them and got into conversation with the wholesaler about creating some paintings just for him.

Before long I was painting in every spare moment I had and the wholesaler was selling them as fast as I could paint them. Being a wholesaler he wasn’t paying me much but, I didn’t have to walk round dozens of shops and galleries. I didn’t have to leave paintings here, there and everywhere ‘hoping’ one would sell.

Instead I just painted and got paid.

To date I’ve sold over 600 paintings! A nice trickle of income.

Why am I telling you all this?

Because you may have a hobbie or two that you don’t think you can earn anything from, and you might be right. But it’s well worth getting out there and finding out. And broaden your view – think outside the box. The money might be in teaching that thing you do. Brainstorm ways in which others might want what you can do.

The excitement of pursuing my hobbie gave me motivation to try other things too – within 3 months I no longer worked in the job I hated.

Go make your own luck

Enjoy

Stu

🙂

PS: If you are having trouble seeing a way out of your present job then grab a no cost copy of my new eBook ‘Do You Hate Your Job?‘ right here. And start broadening your view today.

PPS: To take a look at some of my other art stuff visit my art blog here

10 Comments

Filed under Change Job, Choice, Confidence, Goals, Life changing, Self help, Self Improvement, Success

10 responses to “Turning hobbies into cash!

  1. Hannah Young

    very true – so far iv earned over a grand with my hobbie ^.^

  2. good advice!… I think we hesitate when it’s our artwork…even when others are saying it’s good!…

  3. What a great inspiration you are Stuart! Your encouraging words are motivating me to continue exploring my hobbies and interests.

    I’m in a transitional phase of my life where the old hobbies are no longer satisfying and I’m developing new ones.

    I’m familiar with your Dad’s type of response…usually born out of an intense interest to protect us from pain and possible failure, some parents ask those types of questions.

    The good news is that you set to work on finding at least one person who would pay you for your artwork and that blossomed into an income stream.

    I guess you both found an acceptable answer to the question of who would buy them 🙂

    • Good point Linda – my dad being protective in his own way. I’d love to hear how you get on pursuing these new hobbies and interests of yours, I hope they bring you joy AND income, 🙂

  4. Hi Stu, I especially love this one, Stu. Changing Your Hobbies into cash. It is concrete advice, illustrated with a true personal story, and gives us all hope. We all tend to underestimate our talents. If it is easy for us, we believe it will be easy for everyone. Thank you for putting your personal experience into words and sharing it with all of us. Dauna > WordPress.com > stuartart posted: ” Stuart Young, London, UK Hiya, One of the first > things I did 10 years ago when I decided I hated my job, and that I > was going to change that somehow – was look to my hobbies. It was more > about creating another income stream than replacing my ” >

Leave a Reply

