What to do about feelings of jealousy…

This is November 4th of my book:  ‘How To Change Your Life One Day At ATime‘.

Take the opportunity today to let go of any jealousy you are feeling.

This process is so powerful I thought I’d dwell on it a while longer.

The more you use it the easier it becomes and the more likely you are to experience a breakthrough. When you can get to the point of allowing a negative emotion to dissipate until it is no longer dis- cernable you have successfully let go of it. That’s not to say continual practise is not necessary – it is!

The more you do it the better you’ll become and before you know it life will just seem easier, more joyful and relaxing.

Try it with jealousy. I used to find it difficult to tell the difference between jealousy and envy until I used a technique that gave me clarity. Envy means wanting the same as someone else, whereas jealousy means wishing to deprive someone of what they have so you can have it instead.

It’s only my opinion, but it certainly helps me to think of it that way.

Enjoy

Stu

Related post: Want to know how to get rid of negative emotions?

:)

PS: BUY yourself the BOOK, OR someone else, right here on Amazon: http://amzn.to/1ahfW7R (you’ll see my listing right at the top – it’s the cheapest place to get copies at the moment and YES they’re brand new AND signed).

36 GOLD Star reviews so far!

PPS: Get my F.REE daily thought provoking  ’Ponders, Quotes and Questions‘ emails by visiting my NEW blog and putting your email in the box you’ll see there (new season starting Nov 1st), click here: http://howtochangeyourlifeblog.com

4 Comments

Filed under Life changing, Relationships, Self help, Self Improvement

4 responses to “What to do about feelings of jealousy…

  1. Morning stu. Thanks for this.

    I agree to a degree with you about envy but feel your description of jealousy let’s us off the hook a bit. Few, I imagine, would want to take something away from another in order to have it themselves so would say therefore that they ‘envy’ rather than are jealous.

    I think of jealousy as when resentment sets in, or there is negativity around that envy. Eg. I would drive that car better than him, I’d be a better mum to that child than her, that coat would look better on me etc.

    I can’t think of anyone I’d deprive of something to have for myself. But I can think of cars and coats! (We’ll leave the motherhood one out of this!)

    Thinking of it that way there has to be a few examples where one might resent someone else a bit for what they have….!? That gives me things to ‘let go of’.

    Thanks again. Niki

    • Stuart Young

      Thanks Niki, it seems to me that you are envious in that case (a good thing as envy motivates). When I think of jealousy I think of one person wanting to be with someone else’s girl(boy)friend – that would mean depriving the other. Or, maybe wanting someone else’s house – which would mean depriving THEM of it. If it was a car – then we could get the SAME car without depriving so that seems like envy. It’s a fine line for sure. 🙂

  2. I have a situation I need to work on …and your description may have made it clearer to me…Envy for sure!…Now, (NOT that I don’t work on it constantly) will maybe help me with some answers for myself…

Leave a Reply

