How to get ‘that thing’ done – Today!

August 15th of my book: ‘How To Change Your Life One Day At A Time‘.

Take the opportunity today to learn the GOLF lesson.

If you’ve ever felt like you don’t have enough time to get everything done that you need to do on a daily basis then try this strategy devised by the Internet Marketing/Property genius – Dean Jackson. In a nutshell Dean identifies 4 Reactive Activator areas common to most of us:

1. Email   2. The phone   3. People   4. Thoughts

These are the most common distractors we face daily. Dean devised the GOLF strategy to combat them (and allowed me to share the process in my book).

Goal – set yourself a task you want to complete

Optimal Environment – go to where you’re most likely to get that done

Limited Distractions – remove anything that will distract you, phones, computers, etc.

Fixed Timescale – set a timer for how long you need

The analogy is that if you decided to play a round of golf you’d have to set aside approx. 4 hours of your time to do that. Whilst you’re playing golf for 4 hours you’re not able to email, or phone, or get bugged by colleagues (as long as you turn your mobile device off). The tricky part is eliminating your thought distractions. For this he suggests spending 50 minutes writing down as many thoughts as you can, big, small, weird, irrelevant, important – whatever! This now reduces the chance you will have a rogue thought distract you while you’re doing your task.

I can’t do this justice here without writing a few pages so I suggest you check out his video (if it’s still available) at:

http://bit.ly/nBVvaw

In it he explains and clarifies the whole process.

Me & Dean at last year's event in Phoenix

Me & Dean at last year’s event in Phoenix

Enjoy

Stu

:)

PS: Sign up to my daily thought provoking  ’Ponders, Quotes and Questions‘ emails at my NEW blog by putting your email in the box you’ll see there: http://howtochangeyourlifeblog.com

PPS: Buy yourself, OR someone else, a copy of my book right here on Amazon: http://amzn.to/1ahfW7R (you’ll see my listing right at the top – it’s the cheapest place to get copies at the moment and YES they’re brand new AND signed).
36 GOLD Star reviews so far!

4 Comments

Filed under Goals, Self help, Self Improvement, Success

4 responses to “How to get ‘that thing’ done – Today!

  1. Looking good my friend! 🙂 I like this G.O.L.F. approach (or is it that I’ve wanted to learn GOLF for a while now?!) so, OK, I’ve got the G… the O, i can’t seem to dentify because I am fixated/obssessed/ longing for my own home office, and that isn’t going to happen soon, right now my G is getting my class programs on paper… so no O… the L is not a biggie because when I get in the mode only a hungry child can get me out of it (I feed then I work)…now for the F, there, I’ve got no will strength… I can work for as long as inspiration flows, the tip of setting a timer sounds great to me, just how much time is enough, that is the question… great post!!! alexandra

    • Of course this is just something to model – you may want to change how much time you spend on the different parts. For me – getting rid of distractions is the hardest part. 🙂

  2. Although I do not play golf, this GOLF is a great way to accomplish what you need to get done!

Leave a Reply

