What was the last thing you learnt?

August 3rd of  ‘How To Change Your Life One Day At A Time‘.

Take the opportunity today to learn.

Learning is a passion of mine. When I was at school however, I found many of the lessons dull, boring, mundane and tedious. Subjects that today I find fascinating; history, geography, biology, science, literature. It boils down to the way we learn. At school these subjects were taught out of text books or via the blackboard. Groan! I wasn’t engaged, my imagination wasn’t stirred.

Maybe it’s an age thing, that as we get older we become more interested in the world at large and how it got that way. But I don’t think so. Bob Proctor said once, that a child up to the age of five or six, would rather learn than do anything. If you think about it a child’s brain is programmed to learn just as a matter of survival.

Considering our brain grows more outside of the womb than the nine months inside it, which is more than any other animal, suggests that learning is the most valuable asset we have. Intelligence however is the result of the cumulation of knowledge whereas wisdom is the result of experience. If we allow experience and knowledge to combine we can take our learning to new heights. This learning will allow us to take advantage of more opportunitites which in turn will give us new experiences. If we continue to learn from them – hopefully we’ll get a little wiser in the process.

Enjoy

Stu

🙂

PS: Join hundreds of others that receive my FREE thought provoking daily ‘Ponders, Quotes and Questions‘ emails, see here for details: http://howtochangeyourlifeblog.com/

PPS: PLUS if you enjoyed this post Buy yourself, OR someone else, a copy of my book right here on Amazon: http://amzn.to/1ahfW7R (you’ll see my listing right at the top – it’s the cheapest place to get copies at the moment and YES they’re brand new AND signed).
36 GOLD Star reviews so far!

10 Comments

Filed under Confidence, Goals, Life changing, Self help, Self Improvement, Success

10 responses to “What was the last thing you learnt?

  1. Stu, I am always looking to learn something new, though I can’t pin point why other than, as you say, those incredible subjects like history or geography, for starters, were a nighthmare for me at school (never flunked those, thank God) but are now such an asset as an adult to be able to reference to them in regular conversation or, which is more likely, when my children come to me with a question…Mexican History is a subject I know so little about, I would dare say I know nothing if I think of how much there is for me to learn… It is quite incomprehensible how the teaching of hese subjects has not evolved into something that engages the student, dynamic… So sad to see it be, over and over, the dreaded subject in school 😦 loved the question my friend, thanks, Alexandra

  2. Hi Stu, I am all for learning. Stretching our mind is a good thing, especially as we age. I have been learning Italian for 4 years, I am not very good but I will not give up. I will be leaving in two weeks to do immersion school in Italy I know my brain will need a much needed vacation afterward 🙂

  3. a day doesnlt pass that I don’t learn something or see a way to improve what I already know…simply amazing …this world we live in…just have to be open to the opportunities…

  4. I’m always learning – everything I do, I see as a learning experience. It’s the way to get ahead.

Leave a Reply

