How moving your furniture around can change your mood

JULY 11th of ‘How To Change Your Life One Day At A Time.

You never know when a change of scenery will change your mood. After all, it’s one of the reasons we go somewhere else for our holiday.

We need to get away from the same old same old. Well maybe you don’t have the time or the money at the moment to go on holiday but what you do have is the ability to just change the scenery around at home.

Try it – just one room and see how it makes you feel. Whenever I do this I feel re-energised for some reason. I get to re-enjoy the space I’m living in. Plus, it reinforces that I can change how I feel by taking some action. You feel more in control.

(And you’ll end up finding that missing remote control, a ball of fluff you could stuff a cushion with and approximately £2.75 in change!!)

Enjoy
Stu
🙂

PS: Join hundreds of others that receive my FREE thought provoking daily ‘Ponders, Quotes and Questions‘ emails, see here for details: http://howtochangeyourlifeblog.com/

PPS: PLUS Buy yourself OR someone else a copy of my book right here on Amazon: http://amzn.to/1ahfW7R (you’ll see my listing right at the top – it’s the cheapest place to get copies at the moment and YES they’re brand new AND signed).
36 GOLD Star reviews so far!

11 Comments

Filed under Confidence, Self help

11 responses to “How moving your furniture around can change your mood

  1. I love this one! I have used it with clients who really want change and feel stuck in a rut.

  2. Absolutely true, what you wrote and I can say so from my experience, moving furniture around or changing rooms is really a great stress reliever..
    Great Post Stu, Loved it ♥

  3. i dig it ………………and yeah i do that all the time xx heeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
    🙂

  4. Stu, right on target, as always my friend!! jajajaaa…yesterday my daughter was feeling a bit out of sorts, cranky… and she decided she would rearrange her room, all on her own she came to that mood shifting activity…and it worked, it either put her in a mind-over-matter attitude or simply gave her something productive to think about plus it burned off some negetive energy she had pent up… 🙂

  5. Anonymous

    Is it normal to feel sad after rearranging furniture? Because every time I do, my mood is more depressed and grouchy.

    • I don’t know whether it’s common to feel depressed after moving furniture around. I would certainly think it’s usually a positive experience for people. It brings a new perspective on our environment and the physical exertion can also release endorphins that make us feel ‘better’. So I’m wondering why you feel worse and it could be that you prefer routine. Maybe you really don’t like change and moving the furniture makes you feel uncomfortable in your own home. If this is the case then you may benefit from thinking differently on a day to day basis. When we succumb to the urge to remain constant, unchanging, it can become destructive and can certainly hinder us moving forwards in ways that we might wish. For instance, achieving a goal usually requires changing something in our lives. Do you have any issues with goal achievement?

Leave a Reply

