Share a book that changed your life

The first book that inspired me to write

The first book that inspired me to write

A few days ago a friend of mine nominated, through an initiative in his workplace, MY book as one that has inspired him – he’s not much of a reader! πŸ™‚ Β (Thanks Colin)

Then a couple of days ago, another friend – Tina of Practical Practice Management blogged about 10 books that have inspired her in some way.

This prompted my own blog on the subject. So listed below in chronological order are the books that have inspired me the most for one reason or another. Most are self improvement books, some are fiction that opened my mind in some way.

The Catcher in the Rye – by J D Salinger

Silva Mind Control – by JosΓ© Silva

The Road Less Travelled – by M Scott Peck

Women Are From Venus Men Are From Mars – by John Gray

Conversations With God – by Neale Donald Walsch

Celestine Prophecy – by James Redfield

The Secret – by Rhonda Burne

Tuesdays With Morrie – by Mitch Albom

Northern Lights – by Philip Pullman

Unlimited Power – by Tony Robbins

If I did this list again tomorrow it might change as there are many other books that have inspired me including:Β The Power of Now, Think and Grow Rich, all the other NDW and M Scott Peck books, Starseed and many more.

I’d love to hear of a book that has inspired you in some way.

Enjoy

Stu

πŸ™‚

PS: To see the 36 4&5 star reviews my book has gained on Amazon CLICK HERE

16 Comments

Filed under Life changing, Self help, Self Improvement, Success

16 responses to “Share a book that changed your life

  1. This book didn’t inspire me but make me think : The why cafe

  2. Hellen of Troy by Margaret George… It didn’t change my life but I read it when my life was going through tough, painful change and it was my loyal companion for a while (it’s quite a tome)… Thank God I’ve read many books that I’ve loved and have learned from πŸ™‚ but this book is specially significant for me

  3. Grace and Grit – ken Wilber – πŸ™‚

  4. Stu,

    Books that have changed my life are too numerous to pare down to 10. But I love this exercise, so I’ll give it a try. There are books that cross our paths in life at a time when we most need them. Those are the ones you never forget. I have books that have not only inspired me, but that I have used in the classroom for years to help students learn to live successful lives.

    * In the early 1960’s my dad recommended I read a book titled /The*Power**of Positive **Thinking* /by Norman Vincent Peale. This, to me, may be life’s perfect book. I’ve read it several times. There was a time in my life when I went to sleep at night listening to a recording of this book every night for months. I quote large segments of it to myself frequently. * More than 30 years ago I was going through a divorce. This was something I never thought I would have to do. It made me question everything…all my values and beliefs about life. At that time there was a book that proved to be a lifeline to me. It didn’t talk about divorce at all, but made me believe I could live successfully again even in spite of going through something I never wanted to experience. */See You at The Top /*by Zig Ziglar helped me believe I could soar again. * */Feel the Fear and Do It Anyway /*is a masterpiece. I refer to it often when I speak. I’ve used it for decades with my students. * I love all Melody Beattie’s books. * With my students I love to share stories from */The Right Words at the Right Time/* by Marlo Thomas. This book is only compiled by Marlo Thomas. It is a collection of successful people revealing a time in their lives (turning points) when someone said exactly the right words at the right time to them. there are so many wonderful stories within it. * Richard Carlson’s */Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff/* is great for small lessons for keeping the challenges of life in perspective. He also wrote one specifically for teens. */Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff for Teens./*

    This only scratches the surface, Stu. *//*But it is all I have time for today. Thanks for the challenge. This is a list I need to compile in a more formalized way. I haven’t even gotten to fiction.

    Dauna Easley > WordPress.com > stuartart posted: ” A few days ago a friend of mine nominated, through > an initiative in his workplace, MY book as one that has inspired him – > he’s not much of a reader! πŸ™‚ (Thanks Colin) Then a couple of days > ago, another friend – Tina of Practical Practice Managemen” >

    • Thanks for sharing Dauna. So many books, so little time! As I said in the post, if I did it again today I’d have a slightly different list – and you have the same issue. These authors cannot possibly understand the impact they have had on so many people – amazing and thrilling. πŸ™‚

  5. I like all the books in your list Stu. I particularly liked Celestine Prophesy, Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus, The Road Less Travelled, and Unlimited Power. I need to read The Catcher in the Rye; it has inspired so many people to write in ways they never knew they could. Which book do you like the most now?

    • Thanks California Kid – recently I read ‘Tribal Leadership’ by Dave Logan and 2 other authors. And that has really inspired me, for business and on a personal basis. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

