The Paradox of Shortcuts

F1

Hiya,

I was getting a little impatient the other day. I’m trying to get my book and program into the hands of as many people as possible, and find that the daily grind of putting content ‘out there’ on the interweb takes an inordinate amount of my time.

I thought ‘There must be a quicker way – surely!’

But then I looked back on all the so called short cuts I’ve tried in life and guess what…yeah, they took longer or led me down the wrong street altogether!

In that moment of realisation a Formula 1 racetrack came to mind. I’ve driven on Brands Hatch and been tutored on ‘how’ to do the fastest lap possible. Guess what? They teach that the racing line isn’t always the shortest distance from A to B. The racing line is the fastest route, the route that you can maintain maximum speed without skidding off into the barriers.

It made me wonder where else in my life might I be looking for the shortest distance when I should actually be looking for a route that maintains maximum speed – even if it means going the long way.

I wonder if you might find it useful to consider this in your own life.

Enjoy

Stu

🙂

PS: My book, which encourages daily little changes, may well be the fastest route to where you want to go. Buy it here. 🙂

17 Comments

Filed under Goals, Life changing, Self help, Self Improvement, Success

17 responses to “The Paradox of Shortcuts

  1. I just bought your book. I am really looking forward to reading it!

  2. I like this metaphor…I’m trying to remember if this has applied to my life… To be continued :/

    • I’m sure most of us can find an example Alexandra. 🙂

      • The thing is Stu, that I tend to overcomplicate everything so taking shortcuts would be something uncharacteristic in me… I still can’t remember having taken a shortcut…does trying to cheat in a spelling test count (2nd grade, elementary school with a very strict, adorale nun)? it backfired, I learned my lesson and have not done it again 🙂 HONEST

    • He he, Yes that counts as a shortcut – learning properly would have been the fastest route to the destination!! You may find that you are at the other end of the spectrum – do you find you procrastinate trying to analyse everything to within an inch?

      • I do procrastinate… Just not as much as i used to because it’s also gotten me in trouble… But what i do constantly, and i hate that about me, is that i start many tasks and in the end only get around to finishing a few, which hasn’t been good for me either! I’ve got so many things pending sometimes that it puts me in a bad mood (kind of like the first post from yesterday that i didn’t publish… My bad mood was detonated by several things i have not finished)… I pay attention to complete tasks that affect my ome, my husband or children and MY stuff is always left up in the air…. :/

    • Creatives always have many things on the go – because implementation is always slower than the speed with which new ideas keep coming. We have to practice making notes about the new things, whilst focussing on only DOING one of them at a time. Difficult I know. 🙂

      • Jajajaaaa, you know what I’m talking about… I’ve got so many pictures of bulletin boards and family organization centers in my pinterest board called my creativity space… That’s my excuse, i need an office where i can organize my ideas…what a mess that would be, no wonder the husband doesn’t want to give me one… Ok, so i’ll make myself notes, post-it notes at the scene of the unfinished crime, there’s still hope for me 🙂

    • Stuartart

      My other half tells me my office is a mess – for the same reason, and I have stuff filed away in box files, but there are still notes upon notes upon notes everywhere. I need to follow my own advice a bit more closely. 😀

  3. Binky

    Interesting analogy. I think we often shoot ourselves in the foot looking for an easier way. Steady persistence will often get you there faster.

  4. Stuart – not so much about shortcuts in general, but more about what you are trying to accomplish – have you read Michael Hyatt’s “Platform” book? I’m working to expand my platform and the people I know who have been successful follow what Michael is preaching.

    Good luck! And yes, most of my shortcuts also turn out to be comedic disasters, but at least they are learning experiences, right?

    Pete
    LearnActShare.com

Leave a Reply

