Peeking Through The Veil

Hiya,

I found myself dozing this morning – it was lovely!

Maybe you doze sometimes, Sunday morning maybe. The time between dreaming and being fully awake. Waxing and waning between the two. If you have young children you probably haven’t dozed properly for a while. πŸ˜‰

In my book one of the guides is to just be still and quiet for 5 minutes as often as you can. That’s because this practice is a lot like dozing. A bit like meditating. It gives us the chance to peek through the veil that separates us from our unconscious. When we doze, our brains drift down into Alpha state, this is a semi conscious state and is a powerfully creative frame of mind – free of the filters our conscious mind normally puts up between the two.

Imagine for a moment that you are in a beautiful bedroom three or four stories above a beautiful city. The tall windowed doors Β beside the bed are open and lead to a balcony with ornate iron railings. There’s a gossamer veil obscuring the view, making the outside view hazy and unfathomable. A breeze blows and the veil is lifted slightly, separating in the centre to reveal a glimpse of the beauty below.

That breeze represents your subconscious (unconscious) mind drifting into your conscious awareness. As it does so, you get to ‘see‘ what’s beyond the veil. At the moment your awareness is limited to the four walls of the bedroom. No matter how beautiful the room – it’s a very limited view! Imagine, with practice, you could create that breeze at will. Imagine you could control that breeze. You could peek out over the cityscape whenever you wanted. With enough practice you could get out of the bed, walk over to the window and step through the veil. Standing on the balcony, you would be able to peruse the view at your leisure, taking in all of the detail. You would be able to turn your head (mind) in an instant and take in a different aspect of the city any time you wished.

You would have access to a completely different view (perspective). Would that be useful?

For me, dozing is not so much a luxury as a tool. If I have something on my mind that I can’t quite grasp, I’ll take that 5 minutes and be still. Often my most rewarding ideas come from this state.

Try it and see, it might not reveal a whole lot the first time. But in time, you will undoubtedly learn to love this process.

Enjoy

Stu

πŸ™‚

PS: Christmas is less than 4 weeks away! Yikes! Remember that every book purchased before Christmas (even as a gift) will qualify the recipient to enrol in the 90 day ‘Change Your Mindset, Change Your Life‘ program absolutely FREE! Buy a copy now here

11 Comments

Filed under Self help, Self Improvement

11 responses to “Peeking Through The Veil

  1. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    i do that all the time πŸ™‚
    it does reveal stuff ……..:)

  2. Stephanie Raffelock

    Lovely post, Stu. Thank you. I love my quiet times.

  3. Sometimes called…”daydreaming with intent”…I use it often. Thanks Stu
    be good to yourself
    David

  4. Oh Stu, a five minute quite time out is something I need to practice. It always seems that I need to be doing something else. I will try to take a few of these breaks this weekend. Thank you for the reminder of how important they are. πŸ™‚

  5. I’m a big fan of dozing, usually before I fall asleep I doze and float between the waking and the dreaming. Solutions to the days problems inevitably pop into my mind and I have to leap up to fix things. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

