Take the opportunity today to consider your death.

Hiya,

I know that seems a bit morbid but stick with me a moment.

Remembering that I’ll be dead soon is the most important tool I’ve ever encountered to help me make the big choices in life. Because almost everything – all external expectations, all pride, all fear of embarrassment or failure – these things just fall away in the face of death, leaving only what is truly important. Remembering that you are going to die is the best way I know to avoid the trap of thinking you have something to lose. You are already naked. There is no reason not to follow your heart. Stay hungry. Stay foolish.” – Steve Jobs on leaving Apple, Aug 2011

Steve Jobs was prompted into thoughts of death by medical problems, but WE don’t have to be. From your brimming with health self – consider death and let it be your driving force to take action.

To quote Nike – ‘Just Do It!

Enjoy

Stu

🙂

PS: This is page 395 of  ’How To Change Your Life One Day At A Time‘ Buy your copy at the special launch price which will end after xmas, click here now

PPS: You’ll also get on to my daily ‘Ponders, Quotes and Questions’ thought provoking emails.

9 Comments

Filed under Goals, Life changing, Relationships, Self help, Self Improvement, Success

9 responses to “Take the opportunity today to consider your death.

  1. Stu, thinking about death does bring many things into perspective. Being a cancer survivor myself I do this often, not in a morbid way but in a way, as you state, to keep in line with my priorities. Great post!

    • Thanks Tina, strange that for most of us a brush with our own mortality is what we need to spark into action. Keep up your great work – I’m learning from you daily! 🙂

  2. This hits just too close to home as I just lost a dear friend a few weeks ago. Her death triggered a train of inconsolable emotions and thoughts of my own family, my young children. It reminded me how fragile and short life really is. Facing my friend’s death has indeed became my driving force lately.

    • I’m so sorry about your friend. This is exactly why it’s so important to consider this from time to time. What do we want our legacy to be? Are we engaged in that? Take care Sarah and thanks for sharing.

  3. I’m seriously thinking about writing a piece that I would like read at my memorial service some day. Your post has inspired me to put pen to paper and see what I can come up with. We’ll see. Have a wonderful day my dear Stu.

    • Thanks Renee, I really hoped people would read this post positively and not morbidly. I’m glad it has inspired you. 🙂

      • It most definitely did. I don’t think of death as morbid Stu. I think of it as part of life. Because I know mine is going to end, I try my best to live a good and adventurous life. 😉

  4. Thank you for sharing such an inspiring message Stu! It’s just what I needed 🙂 Right now, I’m having a hard time choosing which path to take (in terms of career).. Part of the reason I can’t decide yet is because I don’t want to make the wrong decision.. I’m afraid to waste my time doing something that might turn out to be wrong for me. I didn’t realize that I’m wasting more time by not starting anything. In short I’m procrastinating :p Anyway, I’m glad I chanced upon your article posted on AMSDaily 🙂 Please keep sharing your wisdom! 🙂

Leave a Reply

