Can we have leaders at the bottom?

Hiya,

I couldn’t sleep last night, my mind was racing for some reason! I ended up getting up and making some notes about this subject.

I got to thinking how we’re always looking UP to see our leaders, whether they are politicians or managers or the clergy of one denomination or another. Maybe we should look around us and below us a bit more (figuratively speaking). We might be surprised at what we find.

Everywhere there are those that display an exemplary attitude towards their work, often of the most menial kind. Work that we probably wouldn’t do ourselves unless we were desperate. But there they are, being conscientious, willing to learn, showing an aptitude to learn, question, challenge even. They prove themselves to be worthy team members and kind colleagues. Decent, hardworking people that ordinarily go unnoticed.

Take a look at those ‘below’ you (in position or pay grade that is), and see which fit the category of leader. It may be the janitor, window cleaner or office junior. Now draw a line under your own position/pay grade. See yourself as being at the bottom – ask yourself ‘How could I better demonstrate that I am a leader’ to those above you as well as below.

Let me know if that makes any sense or if I’m just recounting some disoriented dream!

Enjoy

Stu

šŸ™‚

PS: Try out the first 79 pages of my book: ā€˜How To Change Your Life One Day At A Timeā€˜ at no cost simply by opting in to my complimentary video training series here: (CLICK HERE)

16 Comments

Filed under Goals, Life changing, Relationships, Self help, Self Improvement, Success

16 responses to “Can we have leaders at the bottom?

  1. Great reminder Stu! We so often forget what it takes to do any job. A reminder that we are all created the same even though we may do different jobs does not make one better than another. Leaders lead no matter what they are called to do and no matter what they do for work. Thanks for this important reminder.

  2. Great post, Stu. This is an important reminder. As a therapist, my clients come to me for help. You would not believe how much that I have learned from them. Thank you for sharing.

    • Thanks Kristin, it’s so important to stay open to all possibilities from everyone – that must be a beautifully humbling experience for you. šŸ™‚

  3. Stu it makes total sense, I too have a bit of insomnia for the last 3 nights so if this is not very coherent don’t hold it against me šŸ™‚
    As a business owner, I tell my employees if you know another way to do something other than the way I have showed you and the quality and end result are the same, and it is more efficient for you to do it that way, then do it.
    One way, although it may work for us, may not be the best way for someone else. you should see the leadership that encourages!!!

    • Hi Jim, giving people that space and that authority really makes a difference doesn’t it. When people feel trusted like that and not micro managed, they have the opportunity to really shine. Nice one. Thanks. šŸ™‚

  4. Well, as a mother I can say that my children have taught me some of the most important lessons in life about sincerity, love, the element of surprise, the effect a simple smile can have…big lessons from simple souls! thank you Stu, read you soon, Alexandra

  5. how strange that people who educate us or clean out clutter and mess are not treated well and the ones who create maximmun mess ( politicians specially) are given all the respect in the world
    loved the write up Stuart šŸ™‚

    • Thanks Soma, yes it’s strange the way the respect wheel goes around. I suppose those that step up to be politicians need to be revered for their courage in the first place though. Unfortunately power has the ability to literally change the chemistry in the brain and makes those that have it egotistical and even megalomaniacal. Love seeing you here! šŸ™‚

  6. The scriptural line, “….and the last shall be first” kept reverberating in my head the entire time I was reading this most thought-provoking post. Thank you!

  7. Love this one! There was a janitor at the shelter where I used to work whom I felt was a true leader. I mentioned him to our Exec Dir and we did a special ceremony for him. He had been a client, cleaned up and became a custodian — he was positive, friendly, helpful, always did his work withe a smile, treated everyone with respect and dignity.

    Shortly after he was celebrated, he was diagnosed with cancer and passed away.

    I was always grateful that we took the time to celebrate him while he was alive — which I think is the other point — celebrate those you see as good leaders — no matter their ‘position’ on the org chart.

    Nice to meet you Stuart — I’m grateful you dropped into my place.

    • Heartwarming story Louise – thanks for sharing that. Glad you dropped by and I hope you will again – I look forward to seeing more of your posts. šŸ™‚

  8. Leadership from below makes sense; true leaders earn respect from others by their conduct – leadership by example, not direction or because the ‘leader’ thinks they are entitled to power. It is actually an earned virtue. And I think the key to it is validating and respecting others. That works at any level, it seems to me.

Leave a Reply

