Is it really all in the mind?

Hiya,

I was listening to Roger Bannister on the radio the other day. For anyone that doesn’t know him – he was the first person to break the 4 minute mile! In History!

Doctors, scientists, coaches and other runners of the time said it couldn’t be done, that it was humanly impossible to run that fast for that long. They were all wrong.

What I didn’t know about him was he wanted more than anything else to be a doctor, specifically a neurologist. He wanted to understand the mind.

After his running career he had a long career in this area and subsequently claimed that:

Champions aren’t made in the gyms. Champions are made from something they have deep inside them – a desire, a dream, a vision.

And he never thought of himself as anything special, stating:

I came from such a simple origin, without any great privilege, and I would say I also wanted to make a mark.

So the most important aspect of any achievement is a person’s Mindset. And like training your body for a race training your Mindset takes commitment and work.

Are you prepared to do that to achieve your dream?

Enjoy

Stu

πŸ™‚

PS: Only 12 hours to go until the price increases for book buyers outside of the UK,Β grab your copy now and enrol immediately in the complimentary 90 Day ‘Change Your Mindset, Change Your Life’ Program here:

11 Comments

Filed under Goals, Life changing, Relationships, Self help, Self Improvement, Success

11 responses to “Is it really all in the mind?

  1. Hello Stu,

    Great inspirational post and so very true – the mind is the most powerful of tools that we own. That’s why we must keep it clean from any negativity – positive thought in and negative thoughts out. I agree that champions are made from desire, dream and a vision.

    In gratitude to my mind,
    Nancy

  2. Thanks Stuart…always encouraging reading your posts!

  3. The mind is a powerful tool…

  4. This is a very motivating and uplifting post for me, thank you! Like Mr. Bannister I don’t feel like I’m ‘anything special’, and that the only thing that really separates me (apparently) from my peers is that I have an inner vision for, and drive toward, specific goals. It’s great to read something like this and know I have hope, that I’m not taking ‘crazy pills’.

  5. Hi Stu, love the quote I will have to google him, I am sure my hubby knows of him since he was an avid runner in younger days. I am ready for for the next step in my dream, just have to find the right time to make the next move.. πŸ™‚

  6. Yes, most of it is Stu
    Fuel the body & it will follow the mind
    be good to yourself
    David

Leave a Reply

