Understand what you REALLY want!

Hiya,

Yesterday I asked: if you knew that what you wanted was what you really wanted, to read that go here. Make sure you’ve done that before doing this part.

Today I’m going to share one of Tony Robbins core principles: The 6 Human Needs.

He proposes that we all have 6 basic needs which include:

#1 Certainty (or security)

#2 Uncertainty (or variety)

#3 Significance

#4 Love and Connection

#5 Growth (spiritually, or in our soul or being)

#6 Contribution (to the wider world)

We prioritise them differently from person to person, but we each have all of them to one degree or another.

So, decide right now on a level of 1 – 10 (1 being hardly at all, 10 being totally full) how does your life measure up right now . Go through all 6 and mark on a pad where you are with each. Anything below a 5 by the way means you are pretty dissatisfied with that area of your life – that need of yours is NOT being met.

THEN, go to your Perfect Day and go through the same process.

In your Perfect Day how Certain are you about where you are in your life? 1 – 10

In your Perfect Day how much Uncertainty/Variety is there in your life? 1 – 10

In your Perfect Day how Significant do you feel? 1 – 10

In your Perfect Day how much Love & Connection do you feel? 1 – 10

In your Perfect Day how much Growth is taking place in your life? 1 – 10

In your Perfect Day how much are you Contributing to others? 1 – 10

Mark these scores on your pad. Notice if you are still lower on some than you’d like to be. Are they all at 9s and 10s? If not, why not? What’s missing? Maybe something isn’t really how you want it to be.

If Yes – then that is what you really want, now go for it!

This technique can be applied to any and every area of your life and brings real clarity very quickly.

Try it and see.

Enjoy

Stu

🙂

31 Comments

Filed under Goals, Life changing, Relationships, Self help, Self Improvement, Success

31 responses to “Understand what you REALLY want!

  1. Thanks my sweet. I really needed to read this today. Life is changing for me. In a sad but good way. I need all the strength I can muster right now.

  2. Thanks for stopping by my blog and for the follow.

  3. Hello Stu,

    Love this exercise for isn’t it Socrates that stated, “a life unexamined is not worth living.” I examine mine over and over – I believe I’m on that upper scale of the 1-10 – Living in the moment and embracing life truly helps to get to number 10!

    In love and light,
    Nancy

    • And that’s why you’re a great teacher, role model and inspiration to others. You’re a living breathing example of what can be done with a life. Kudos to you and your courage! 🙂

  4. Love this Stu thanks for the perspective!

  5. This exercise can be very eye-opening either confirming you are heading in the right direct or causing you to really take a good look at where you need to do a bit of work. Thanks for taking the time to share it Stu. My book finally arrived, but I have decided to save reading it until an upcoming road trip in Italy in August. I think it will be a perfect time.

    • Wow, that’ll be lovely I’m sure – I love Italy! Enjoy. 🙂

      • Thank you. When I take this type of trip where it is for visiting family and hanging out I have time to read and write. Two years ago my Aunt and I did this type of trip and I read three books in 10 days it was heaven…. I am so looking forward to reading your book in such a relaxed situation.

  6. Thank you for this exercise. Very easy to apply. I often do inventory in my life which is very similar but I love this approach. It looks like I’m in a good place but I could work on my “Uncertainty/Variety” I hope good health can provide this~

    • I’m glad it’s been thought provoking for you. The archives here are full of posts such as this, I hope you get the time to browse a while, and if you like what you read – my book has 365 such guides! Thanks for dropping by. 🙂

  7. Hi Stuart,
    We all should take the time to assess/re assess where we stand….otherwise Life gets away before you know it. Thanks for sharing
    be good to yourself
    David

  8. Tara Woodruff ~ The Challenge

    YOU SO ROCK!!! Thank you for your beautiful Blog! I do believe it deserves a Beautiful Blog Award, So I nominate you!

  9. So insightful and well written. Thanks.
    ’I’m finally on Facebook, the demon of social media. I’m sitting alone here in my tiny dark corner of Facebook waiting for your visit. Please come and see me my new Facebook page and for heaven sakes…Like me!!
    http://www.facebook.com/SimplyKarmicDiva

  10. Just now read this post, thanks, now going for exercise.

  11. like this…am going to have to give it further thought. Interesting way of checking up on ourselves and our desires…and where we think we would like to go (or stay)
    much love light and joy

  12. This looks like a very helpful exercise. I’ll have to try it this week. Thanks for sharing it. 🙂

  13. Sounds like a useful and fun exercise. I already know that the uncertainty aspect is hard for me to enjoy as I’m very much tied to routine and habit. The slightest glitch in my schedule has the power to throw me off course and I lose all sense of the day. Obviously not a good thing, so I’ll have to work on that.

    Now if I plan the uncertainty/variety into my schedule, then I’m good to go, lol

  14. Great points and I love the Tony Robbins guidelines too.

Leave a Reply

