Take the opportunity today to enhance your Affirmations

Hiya,

A couple of weeks ago I suggested you take the opportunity to create some Affirmations.

Then I promised I’d show you how you can enhance those Affirmations with one little trick – this is that post.

Noah St John, author of ‘The Secret Code Of Success’ encourages us to turn affirmations (positive statements about ourselves) into questions. He calls them Afformations.

The idea is that the mind wants to answer questions – it’s wired that way. So whilst it’s good to say to yourself each and every day: “I am so happy with my… partner or job or children or level of abundance.” or whatever.  It’s actually more powerful an exercise to ask: “Why…am I so happy with my…?” After asking, our mind runs off to go and find relevant information to be able to answer it. It actively searches for evidence of why you’re so happy with whatever it is.

This is a great exercise and one that I practise as often as possible – one caution though – make sure you keep your questions positive! If you ask: “Why don’t I have enough money?” for instance your mind will find the answers and evidence of that for you. The result might demo- tivate you instead of inspire you.

To find out more about Noah St. John visit: http://www.NoahStJohn.com

Enjoy

Stu

🙂

PS: Try out 79 pages of my book: ‘How To Change Your Life One Day At A Time‘ at no cost simply by opting in to my complimentary video training series here: (CLICK HERE)

21 Comments

Filed under Goals, Life changing, Relationships, Self help, Self Improvement, Success

21 responses to “Take the opportunity today to enhance your Affirmations

  1. Great thought – WHY???? I am happy for I am love….
    Nancy

  2. WordsFallFromMyEyes

    Hiya,
    When I was in a Toastmasters club years ago, they did affirmations pre each meeting. I decided to employ some myself. So when I went on walks or did swims, I repeated and repeated phrases in my head. Not a thing changed. I wonder why not … was a part of my brain rejecting it each time I repeated? I’ll never know. So, I don’t really believe in affirmations. But an interesting post!

    Noeleen
    http://www.VodkaWasMyMuse.wordpress.com / http://www.WordsFallFromMyEyes.wordpress.com

    • Hi Noeleen, I wonder if adding this WHY before your affirmations would make a difference. I think Noah makes a valid point about Affirmations seeming like lies, and that’s why he created Afformations – now they are not statements of fact but questions that need answers. Would love to know how you get on if you decide to try. Thanks. 🙂

  3. this is very interesting
    thank you stu 🙂

  4. Like this idea, I will do it! Thanks for sharing this approach. I’ll check out Noah St. John!

  5. Interesting trick. I’ll have to try it out. 🙂

  6. Very interesting… I’ll start making Afformations now 🙂

  7. I love affirmations and have used them for many years… They do work; even if not exactly as expected. 😉

  8. Great post, good advice!

    ~ Ben

  9. Pingback: Is being positive a load of old rubbish? | the ChangeYourLife blog

Leave a Reply

