Take the opportunity today to get in touch with your envy.

Hiya,

Most people are envious in some way or another of someone else. We love the house they live in or the car they drive or the partner they’re with or the lifestyle they lead yada yada.

Then the guilt button might go on. Often people feel bad for feeling envious. There’s no need. Envy can be a good thing. Envy drives us on to create the same in our lives. Envy can be the fuel you need to reach your goals. Envy can be useful.

Jealousy however is envy’s darker sibling. Jealousy wants what someone else has. Not something the same or similar but actually what they have. Jealousy leads to lies and deceit and resentment. In the worst cases it can lead to hate, anger and crime.

So the next time you want what someone else has consider whether you are being jealous or envious. If it’s the latter, allow that to spur you on to get the same. Use what they have as a model. Even go as far as to ask them how they got what it is you want.

Good luck.

Stu

🙂

PS: If you enjoyed this post take a look at the FREE online video series here.

24 Comments

Filed under Goals, Life changing, Relationships, Self help, Success

24 responses to “Take the opportunity today to get in touch with your envy.

  1. Great perspective with this post Stu! Thanks for the insight. You really hit the nail on the head with “jealousy is envy’s darker sibling”. Have a great day!

  2. Thanks Stu, I have been looking at similar feelings recently that had decided to surface. It had not occured to me there was a difference between jealousy and evny, nor that a little envy might be a good thing. Thanks for opening my eyes 😀

  3. Reblogged this on Smile if your sexy! and commented:
    Thanks for this.

  4. I’m not going to be able to add anything of note to what has already been written, but I am grateful for you defining the difference between jealousy and envy. well written and keep it up.

    Be encouraged!

  5. Thank you for clarifying the two- as I have not achieved as much “materially” as most of my siblings, cousins, and friends, the world feels the need to want and have so much they often made me feel like I was lying to myself when I say I am not jealous of any of you. I am so Proud of all their accomplishments yet they have a hard time understanding that if I had the money to buy what I wanted I would not buy what they bought or spend my money on the majority of the things they choose to spend theirs on.
    I want many things out of life yet i dont desire to have what they have I have my own desires and I do desire to achieve and acquire them all.
    I only ask that they will be happy, compliment, and congradulate me the same I do and have for them. Thank You Stu for explaining the difference between the two for me -envy can stand- jealousy I want do- Peace and Blessings have no room for the darker side!!!!!

    • You’re very welcome Niki. It’s a shame when others judge us by their benchmark. Good for you to see past that. Good luck in achieving what you want. 🙂

  6. Thank You for helping me with this. I have not acquired as much materially as my siblings, cousins, and friends yet I have been accused of being a liar when I express to them that I am not jealous of what they have.
    I am glad to know that Envy may stand but in my heart of hearts no jealousy, Your explanation shows me that if I had my money I woouldnt buy the things they buy. I have my own desires and my own likes.
    I am so Proud of them all for everything they have accomplished yet at the end of the day Niki has her likes and she has been keeping pictures, websites, and articles for years of the things she will do when she receives her money. And Trust when I say they havent acquired much of those things 🙂
    I only ask that they will be as Happy and Proud of me when I do achieve my desires as I have been for them!!!

  7. Envy and Jealousy – they truly are related aren’t they? When I was younger I had both envy and jealousy –

    As I’ve gotten older and wiser – I now don’t have room for either relatives in my home……I have replaced them with LOVE and more LOVE!

    In love and light,
    Nancy

    • I hear you Nancy. I still retain my envy as a useful tool to move me forward. When I see other people doing great and valuable work that helps others – I want to do the same, and that feeling drives me on. 🙂

  8. Not a quality that we like to acknowledge in ourselves, but liberating when we finally do. When you can identify something, then you get to choose to keep it or change it. Very uplifiting and vibrant site. Good wishes and good will from your American blogging friend! 😉

  9. I stopped being jealous of what a certain social set in my town seemed to have when I realized I had gone out of my way NOT to live in that style. I am really happy with the decisions I have made: yes, I am!

  10. Life has taught me a lot about that emotion… envying others is a waste of time. Ditto jealosuy. Until we walk in another’s shoes we don’t have the full story so it’s best to applaud and do our own growing. 🙂

    • I agree about the walking in their shoes – we don’t know what someone has gone through to get where they are, and if we did, we might not envy ‘that’.

  11. Thanks for defining envy versus jealousy. They both feel like emotions that have to be hidden. It is such a relief to admit envy and then work forward to achieve more. 🙂

    • We’ve been taught Kourtney from an early age to feel guilty about certain emotions, but even jeolousy is nothing to be guilty of. Worked on – yes! Guilty – No! All emotions are valid, and when we feel the need to suppress or ‘hide’ them we don’t get a chance to look at them and understand them. Take care and thanks for commenting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

