Take the opportunity today to enjoy the journey.

Hiya,

Did you watch Kelly Holmes winning her two Gold Medals in the 2004
Olympics? If not go and watch them now – it’s inspirational, here’s a
link to the YouTube video if the above doesn’t play: http://tinyurl.com/42uaukd
Now, imagine if someone had said to her before each race ‘Hey Kelly,
you can have the Gold Medal, we know you’re the best, there’s no need
to run’ do you think she would have replied: ‘Oh, great, thanks – I’ll
get changed into my tracksuit then.’? – I don’t think so!

The journey is the experience you are having, the race is the
challenge and the medal is the prize – the medal without the race
means nothing and the race without the journey means nothing. And I
don’t think it’s about competing. I don’t think it’s about beating
other people. I think it’s about proving something to yourself.

So my question to you is: ‘What prize are you after, and at what stage
of the race are you in?’ If you haven’t started yet that’s ok –
preparation is an important part of the process! If you don’t do the
prep you won’t get past the first hurdle. Having said that, there’s
only so much prep you can do. You can’t win the prize until you enter
the race. Some of you I guess are already well in to the second or
third laps, maybe you can even see the finishing line. Well done you!

If you’re struggling though and feel that you’re not going to make it,
dig deep, think of that podium, think of the roaring crowd, see
yourself winning. This is your journey, this is your race and you can
get that medal – but you have to keep going.
And remember: it’s the journey that’s important because the only real
finish line is the last one, if you know what I mean!

Enjoy

Stu

🙂

PS: Try out the first 79 pages of my book: ‘How To Change Your Life One Day At A Time‘ at no cost simply by opting in to my complimentary video training series here: (CLICK HERE)

2 Comments

Filed under Goals, Life changing, Relationships, Self help, Self Improvement, Success

2 responses to “Take the opportunity today to enjoy the journey.

  1. rob

    I’d like to add to this by saying the final post needs also to be a realistic and achievable one. I have related my goals as a high jump but I have raised it three times, I’m working on the forth.
    Best regards keep pushing

  2. stuartart

    Hi Rob, the important question is: ‘What prize are you after, and at what stage of the race are you in?’ or was that a metaphorical ‘high jump’ you spoke about?
    🙂

Leave a Reply

